Skip to Content

Who We Are

Pictured from left to right: Chris Rootsaert, David Kron, Leanne Fenez, Jennifer Frain, Lindsey Cooke,Cheryl Martens


Barrier-Free Manitoba is a non-partisan, non-profit, cross-disability initiative that was formed in 2008. We believed that the time had come for the Province of Manitoba to enact strong and effective legislation that requires the removal of existing barriers and prevents the creation of new ones.

We believed that enacting such legislation is a basic matter of human rights.
We believed that the removal of barriers is an entirely realistic and attainable duty.
We believed that the removal of barriers is good basic public policy that will benefit everyone.
We believed that enacting such legislation is about doing what is right and doing what is reasonable.

So Barrier-Free Manitoba launched and sustained a 5+ year campaign to secure this legislation. The landmark Accessibility for Manitobans Act (AMA) was passed with all party, all member support in the Manitoba Legislature in December 2013. Click here for more details on the 5+ year campaign.

In May of 2014, Barrier-Free Manitoba began the next stage of work - ensuring the timely and effective implementation of the AMA. Click here for more details of on our current work.

Barrier-Free Manitoba has been and continues to be led by a Steering Committee with members spanning Manitoba's disability communities. The members of the BFM 4.0 Steering Committee and, where applicable, their organizational affiliations are:

Cheryl Martens (Manitoba Supported Employment Network)
Chris Rootsaert (Ten Ten Sinclair Housing)
David Kron (Cerebral Palsy Association of MB, Children's Coalition)
Jennifer Frain (New Directions for Children, Youth, Adults and Families)
Leanne Fenez (Abilities Manitoba, St.Amant)
Lindsey Cooke (Society for Manitobans with Disabilities)